United Airlines Council 06 EWR


Nomination Results: The following Flight Attendants will appear on the election ballot.

LEC President:

Kim Montgomery

Shaun-Christopher Washington

Melinda York Niemann

LEC Vice President:

Pam Caponetti

Jennifer Dinatale

Jennifer Ritter

LEC Secretary:

Susannah Carr

Hector Gomez

Rita Pearl

Council Representative (6 positions):

Dazne Cajuste Webster

Nila Espinosa

Robin Gilinger

Thailia Harris

Randy Hatfield

Julie Hill

Allison Hutz

Roger Jamerson

Fernando Rivera

Aimee Ruocco

David Scalzo Jr.

Navin Singh

Ravin Singh

Winson Waterman

Click here for a copy of the certified nomination results.


Election Schedule:

MAIL DATE: 10-11-19     Voting Notice and Voting Guide are mailed containing your personal  16-digit activation code

POLLS OPEN: 10-15-19   12:00 PM ET Polls Open and voting begins

POLLS CLOSE: 11-5-19   12:00 PM ET Polls close and the election count takes place.


Election Notice 2019

In accordance with the Article VIII of the AFA-CWA Constitution & Bylaws, all Councils in Category I must nominate and elect officers for the term beginning January 1, 2020 and ending December 31, 2022 (three year term). Local Council Officers to be elected will be LEC President, LEC Vice President, LEC Secretary and six (6) Council Representatives.

As an active member in good standing, you have the right to nominate candidates for office, to run for office and to cast a secret ballot.

Nominations and elections are governed by procedures outlined in the Association’s Constitution & Bylaws, Article VIII and the AFA Policy Manual.

In order to participate in the nomination and election process a Flight Attendant must be an Active Member in Good Standing.

This means you must not be on a leave of absence, you must be a current member of the Association of Flight Attendants and your AFA account should be in good standing (no delinquent union dues).

For those who are new hires with your airline, you must complete the 4 month AFA Apprentice Membership on or before the count date in order to participate in the nomination or election process.


The first step in the process is nominating candidates for each office. Every active AFA member in good standing is eligible to nominate one Flight Attendant to each LEC Office for their respective Local Council. There is no candidate list provided for Nominations since any active AFA member of the Local Council, who is in good standing and is committed to serve, is eligible to be nominated.

You will receive a Voting Notice and Instructions guide via postal mail which includes a personal 16-digit activation code that is required to log into the voting system in order to obtain a username and password. You will then be able to access the balloting section and cast your vote. The entire process can only be accomplished via the internet in one session, but please ensure you completely follow the instructions. ** Once you cast your vote you may not revote in accordance with Department of Labor guidelines.

The next step in the process is electing those members who have committed to serve the membership and received at least two nomination votes. Each member in good standing is eligible to vote for one candidate for each LEC Office.

You will receive the Voting Notice & Instructions along with a Voting Guide listing the candidates running for each office. This mailing will include a new personal 16-digit activation code, and similar to the Nomination process, it will allow you to access the voting system via phone or internet to obtain a username and password and cast your ballot. Due to account security requirements you are issued a new 16-digit activation code for each election. ** Once you cast your vote you may not revote in accordance with Department of Labor guidelines.

Each member who receives at least two nominations and who intends on running for office must complete a Commitment to Serve form. This form is found on the AFA Election website:

The AFA Election website contains information regarding the voting process, eligibility to vote and step-by-step guides and videos. The official certified results for each nomination and election will be posted on this site under the specific Council’s page.






SPECIAL ELECTION 2016:  United Council 06 and Council 62 (EWR)

ELECTION RESULTS: The following Flight Attendants were elected to the term of office beginning January 1, 2017. 

LEC President

Shaun McNulty

LEC Vice President

Kim Montgomery

LEC Secretary

Pamela Caponetti

Council Representative (2)

Susannah Carr

Laverne Nelson

Click here for a copy of the certified results.

Click here for a copy of the certified nomination results.